DEG Elects New Board


Los Angeles - The

Digital Entertainment Group (DEG)

kicked off its 15th year by unveiling a new board of directors and steering committee officers.

Also this year, the new board, which will serve between Aug. 1 and July 31, includes new representation from Samsung.

The five members of the DEG steering committee are halfway through their two-year term. The board recently voted to add a sixth seat to the steering committee, which is now comprised of a president, three vice presidents, secretary and chief financial officer.

The officers are responsible for providing leadership and oversight of the DEG's agenda. The newly elected VP is Leslie Cohen of Sony Music Entertainment.

During the upcoming fiscal year, the DEG will continue its educational efforts in support various new and emerging home entertainment products, including Blu-ray Disc, connected devices, digital delivery and home 3D.

"We are excited to enter the DEG's 15th year with the strength of the new Steering Committee and Board of Directors behind us," said Amy Jo Smith, DEG executive director. "We are looking forward to undertaking our full agenda of ongoing initiatives with their support."  

The following are new elected DEG board members and officers:

2011-2012 board of directors:

Steering committee:  president, Ron Sanders, Warner Home Video president; VP, Leslie Cohen, Sony Music Entertainment new products and services senior VP; VP, David Bishop, Sony Pictures Worldwide Home Entertainment president; VP, Craig Kornblau, Universal Studios Home Entertainment president; secretary, Mike Dunn, Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment president; chief financial officer, Eisuke Tsuyuzaki, Panasonic, chief technology officer.

Board members: Henry McGee HBO Home Entertainment president; Tim Alessi, LG Electronics product development director; Steve Beeks, Lionsgate president and co-chief operating officer; Blair Westlake, Microsoft media and entertainment group corporate VP; Dennis Maguire, Paramount Home Entertainment Worldwide president; Marty Gordon, Philips Electronics VP; Andy Parsons, Pioneer Electronics new product planning and corporate communications senior VP; Eric Anderson, Samsung Electronics content strategies VP; Chris Fawcett, Sony Electronics TV business unit home division VP; Stephen Nickerson, Summit Entertainment home entertainment president; Toshiba America Information Systems digital products division marketing VP, Ron Smith; Jim Belcher, Universal Music Group advanced technology and production VP; Lori MacPherson, Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment executive VP and general manager.


Related Articles