Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CEA Inducts 15 Into The CE Hall Of Fame

LOS ANGELES — Fifteen industry leaders were inducted into the Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame during its 14th annual awards ceremony, held here, Tuesday, Oct. 22.

The Hall of Fame Awards ceremony was held in conjunction with the Consumer Electronics Association’s (CEA) Industry Forum earlier this week and included a special tribute to International CES founder Jack Wayman’s 50-year career at CEA and its predecessor organization.

The 2013 class includes the following:

Dr. Samar Basu discovered the material that enabled the development of rechargeable lithium-ion batteries that now power many CE devices.

Dr. Marcian “Ted” Hoff put a “computer on a chip” that led to the Intel 4004 chip, the world’s first microprocessor.

Dr. Ching Tang and Steven Van Slyke at Eastman Kodak helped create OLED displays.

Katsuhiko Machida and Mikio Katayama of Sharp saw LCD as the future of HDTV. Machida transformed Sharp into a market leader in the LCD flatscreen TV category, while Katayama’s work made the large-screen technology possible.

Jim Barton and Michael Ramsay created TiVo, the first commercial hard-drive-based DVR.

Gary Burrell and Dr. Min-Hwan Kao founded Garmin, the first and largest commercial GPS receiver maker worldwide.

The father/son team of Len and Jim Tweten founded Magnolia Audio Video and then grew the local chain into a national high-end audio and video retailing giant.

Pierre Omidyar founded eBay and hired Meg Whitman to help grow the company to $8 billion in annual revenue.

Manning Greenberg was one of the most significant trade journalists of his time while working at Home Furnishings Daily from the 1950s to the 1990s.

The highlight of the evening occurred when CEA honored Jack Wayman with a video montage of his career achievements, bringing attendees to a standing ovation. Wayman, a highly decorated World War II officer with two Purple Hearts, will soon receive the Légion d’Honneur from the French government. He also is an inaugural member of the 2000 class of the CE Hall of Fame.

For more on the CE Hall of Fame and the Jack Wayman tribute video, visit