Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Scenes From A Show: MARTA’s Grand Meeting At MGM

LAS VEGAS — MARTA members didn’t allow the uncertainties of the current majap marketplace to impact their mood during the buying co-op’s 35th anniversary show last month here at the MGM Grand.

Indeed, executive director Warren Mann described dealer sentiment as buoyant as the independents went about the business of buying and, given the venue, betting.

Highlights included a keynote address by Amana president Chuck Carroll and the final round of MARTA awards to be handed out in 2000.

The winners were:

Chairman’s Award: Thomson Consumer Electronics (selected by board chairman Elmer Karl, president of Karl’s, Gregory, S.D., for the year-over-year growth of its MARTA business)

Larry Blumenthal Award: Joe Verdi, former executive director of MARTA (selected by Marc and Jeff Blumenthal of B&B Appliance in Cleveland, in posthumous honor of their father)

Executive Director’s Award: Amana (selected by Warren Mann for the manufacturer’s favorable distribution and support this year)

Electronics Dealer of the Year: Dearden’s, Los Angeles

Appliance Dealer of the Year: Jetson’s, Fort Pierce, Fla.

Electronics Vendor of the Year: Toshiba (accepted by national group director Mike Guida)

Appliance Vendor of the Year: Frigidaire (accepted by national sales manager John Graff)

Best New Vendor: Panasonic (accepted by Kate Beck, national sales manager, buying groups)