Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TWICE’s Tarr Among Those Honored By Academy Of Digital TV Pioneers

TWICE executive editor Greg Tarr was among several industry luminaries and organizations presented with Academy of Digital Television Pioneers Awards during Wednesday’s sixth annual HDTV Summit produced by the Consumer Electronics Association.

According to the Academy, the awards recognize outstanding achievements in bringing HDTV to consumers during calendar year 2001. Tarr was presented, along with Mike Snyder of USA Today, with the Best DTV Journalism award.

Among the honorees cited by the Academy was CBS, which received three awards, for Best DTV Network; Best Local DTV Broadcaster for its CBS affiliate, WRAL in Raleigh, N.C., and for Best DTV Sporting Event for its broadcast of the 2001 Super Bowl.

The Academy also recognized Dallas Mavericks owner Mark Cuban for his pioneering efforts in launching HDNet, the nation’s first all HD network. Cuban received the DTV Leadership Award for Industry and HDNet was honored as Best DTV Satellite Programmer.

Congressman Billy Tauzin (R-LA), chairman of the House Committee on Energy and Commerce, received the DTV Leadership Award for Government.

Among the other winners are: DTV Leadership Award (Retailer), Circuit City; Best DTV Satellite Service, DirecTV; Best DTV Cable System, Time Warner; and Best Original DTV Material, Band of Brothers from HBO.

The Academy of Digital Television Pioneers is a group of 150 executives from the broadcasting, program development, CE manufacturing and retailing industries who played a significant role in the development of HDTV.