Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CEA Presents Digital Patriots Awards To Two Congressmen

Washington — The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) presented its Digital Patriots award to Rep. Roy Blunt (R-MO) and Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-N.Y.) during its annual dinner, here, Wednesday evening.

Gary Shapiro, president/CEO of CEA, said in presenting the awards that both congressmen have been honored “for their tireless efforts to strengthen our innovation economy.”

Blunt was honored for building bipartisan support for the Columbia Free Trade Agreement and for “his

leadership on HDTV,” CEA said. Meeks was honored for his “strong belief in the benefits of free trade to the global economy.”

Blunt, in his acceptance speech, said regarding the delay of the DTV transition to June: “No one in my area called us” about problems with the original February deadline, and commented, “I am proud to be a friend to your industry.”

Meeks said the industry is special to him, “Every time I check an email, or watch my 50-inch flat-screen TV in my home … and that my 9-year-old daughter can use her computer and go online like anyone else to access information. Your technology levels the playing field for everyone.”

Also at the dinner three new members were named to the Academy of Digital Television Pioneers: Jonathan Collegio of the National Association of Broadcasters; Jason Oxman of CEA; and Dave Graveline, host of the radio program Into Tomorrow and podcaster for