Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CEA Names 12 To CE Hall of Fame

Arlington, Va. — The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) today announced the 2014 class of a dozen inductees into the Consumer Electronics (CE) Hall of Fame.

The 2014 CE Hall of Fame inductees include company founders and inventors, industry executives and journalists who promote technology, and the retailers that educate and deliver products to consumers. This year’s class also includes two teams of individuals, underscoring the collaboration that takes place within the CE industry. The 2014 inductees are:

• C.W. Conn – founder of Conn’s Inc. electronics and appliance store

• Dr. Levy Gerzberg – co-founder of Zoran Corp.

• Loyd Ivey – founder and CEO of Mitek Electronics and Communications Corp.

• Dr. David Lee – founder of Silicon Image, pioneering work on DVI/HDMI technology

• Cowboy Maloney – founder of Cowboy Maloney’s Electric City

• Gerald McCarthy – former president of Zenith Sales Company

• Walter Mossberg – CE journalist covering the industry for more than four decades

• Tim Westergren – founder of Pandora

• Team: Victor and Janie Tsao – founders of Linksys who created the first consumer class router

• Team: Hedy Lamarr and George Antheil – inventors of spread spectrum and frequency hopping techniques

For the first time, the CE Hall of Fame dinner will move to New York City. The 12 new honorees will be inducted into the CE Hall of Fame at an awards dinner to be held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel on Monday, Nov. 10. For more information about the CE Hall of Fame program, visit:

The CE Hall of Fame was founded in 2000 to recognize the leaders in the consumer technology industry who advance innovation and helped shape the course of the industry.