Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


HTSA Elects Board Members

Home Theater Specialists of America (HTSA) elected several new members to its board. The positions are effective Jan. 1, 2004.

Elected president of the high-end A/V and custom-install buying group is Mihir Mody, president of Home Theater Store in Houston. He succeeds Franklin Karp, president of Harvey Electronics, based in Lyndhurst, N.J.

Assuming the vice presidency is Roger Koehler, president of The Big Picture in Denver. Also joining the board is Leon Soohoo, president of Paradyme in Sacramento, Calif., who is taking the seat held by Joe Barrett, principal of Barrett’s Home Theater in Elmhurst, Ill.

“Mihir Mody brings a skilled negotiator to the position of president,” noted Richard Glikes, executive director of HTSA. “His talents on merchandising, store design and forward thinking are recognized industrywide. He will have a numinous effect on the group.”

The HTSA election was held during the group’s “Fusile Fall Pump Up” meeting, which ran in conjunction with the recent Consumer Electronics Association gathering at the La Costa Resort in Carlsbad, Calif.

Glikes added that 2004 “portends to be the best year ever for specialty retailing.”

The seven-year-old organization has 47 members that generate about $450 million in cumulative annual sales.