Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TWICE Among DTV Award Winners

Washington – TWICE was among the award winners during the Academy of Digital Television Pioneers (DTV Academy) Awards that were presented on March 22 during the Consumer Electronics Association’s ninth annual HDTV Summit

The annual DTV Awards are independently voted on and bestowed by the DTV Academy for excellence in all aspects of digital content development and delivery, analog-to-digital transition leadership and the manufacture of high-definition television (HDTV) products.

The awards, presented during a special luncheon honoring the DTV Academy, recognized achievements made throughout 2003 in thirteen categories, including the People’s Choice Award for the best HDTV program – the first and only DTV Academy Award voted on by the public.

This is the second time in three years that TWICE has won the Best DTV Journalism award. While TWICE won as a publication for 2003, for calendar year 2001 executive editor Greg Tarr won the award for his individual coverage of the industry.

The 2003 DTV Awards also included a new category – the DTV Academy Award of Distinction – presented to the individual or organization that has demonstrated exceeding effort and tireless dedication to promote HDTV to consumers throughout the year. The ESPN network received the first DTV Award of Distinction for its exemplary use of the analog channel to promote ESPN HD.

The 2003 DTV Academy Award recipients in the rest of the categories are:

Best DTV Network – CBS

Best Local DTV Broadcaster – WRAL, CBS affiliate in Raleigh, N.C.

Best DTV Cable System – Comcast

Best DTV Satellite Provider – DirecTV

Best DTV Satellite Programmer – HDNet

Best DTV Sporting Event – ABC Monday Night Football

Best Original DTV Material – ABC Monday Night Football

DTV Industry Leadership Award – John Taylor, LG Electronics

DTV Government Leadership Award –Michael Powell, chairman, Federal Communications Commission

DTV Retailer Leadership Award –Best Buy

The People’s Choice Award – CSI: Miami, CBS

DTV Academy Award of Distinction – ESPN HD

“Receiving a DTV Award – even a nomination – is a true achievement,” said CEA president/CEO Gary Shapiro. “The members of the DTV Academy are individuals from all relevant industries who have been committed to the analog to digital television transition for more than a decade. The awards allow them to recognize the companies and individuals that are making contributions to the furtherance of high definition television. CEA joins HDTV enthusiasts across the country in thanking and congratulating them.”

The Academy of Digital Television Pioneers is a select group of 203 individuals who have played a significant role in the decade-long effort to make digital television a reality for consumers. The DTV Academy includes representatives from the broadcasting, program development, consumer electronics industries, as well as present and former government officials and members of the media. The DTV Academy is dedicated to recognizing today’s DTV leaders and to continued collaboration on the DTV transition.