Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TWICE Among DTV Award Nominees

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) announced the final nominees in 12 categories for the Academy of Digital Television Pioneers (DTV Academy) Awards on behalf of the more than 200 members of the DTV Academy, honoring achievements in all aspects of HDTV during 2003.

The DTV Academy Awards presentation will be held during CEA’s Eighth Annual HDTV Summit: Partnership, Policy and Profits at the Washington, D.C. Convention Center on Monday, March 29.

Awards are presented to honor excellence in all aspects of digital content development and delivery, analog-to-digital transition leadership and the manufacture of high definition television (HDTV).

Among the nominees in the Best DTV Journalism category is TWICE. The award categories, and the nominees in each category, are:

  • Best DTV Broadcast Network —ABC, CBS and HDNet.
  • Best Local DTV Broadcaster —KING, WETA and WRAL.
  • Best DTV Cable System — Comcast, Cox and Time Warner.
  • Best DTV Satellite Service —DirecTV, Echostar and Voom.
  • Best DTV Satellite Programmer —Discovery, HBO and HDNet.
  • Best DTV Sporting Event — ABC Monday Night Football, ABC Super Bowl and CBS College Football.
  • Best Original DTV Material — ABC Monday Night Football, CBS CSI Miami and CBS Grammy Awards.
  • Best DTV Leadership (Industry) — Bryan Burns, ESPN, Mark Cuban, HDNET and John Taylor, Zenith.
  • Best DTV Leadership (Government) — Congressman Rick Boucher, Congressman Lee Terry, and Michael Powell, chairman, FCC.
  • Best DTV Leadership (Retailer) — Best Buy, Circuit City and Sears.
  • Best DTV Journalism — TV Technology, TWICE and USA Today.
  • The People’s Choice Award — ABC Monday Night Football, CBS CSI Miami and HBO Six Feet Under.

The 2003 awards will be presented during a special luncheon at CEA’s HDTV Summit in late March. For more information on the event and to register visit For more details on this story, check