Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Thomson’s Chairman/CEO Thierry Breton Resigns

Boulogne, France – Thomson has named Charles Dehelly CEO and Frank E. Dangeard chairman, replacing Thierry Breton, who has resigned to become chairman of France Telecom.

The decision, which was announced at a board meeting today, will be formally approved by the board after a shareholders’ meeting October 8. In the meantime Breton will continue as chairman/CEO. If these moves are approved, Breton has been unanimously approved to remain a member of the board and to chair the Strategic Committee after October 8.

The board has to approve the modification of Thomson’s by-laws in order to separate the chairman and CEO jobs, as per the French New Business Regulations law, Thomson said.

Dehelly, who joined Thomson in 1998 and is currently COO, will be in change of the implementation of strategies designed by the board and operational management. He will be assisted by four senior executive VPs: Al Arras, John Neville, Lanny Raimondo and Julian Waldron.

Dangeard, currently vice-chairman, joined the board in 1999. As chairman he will drive activities of the board and will continue, with new management, to represent the company particularly in front of shareholders and various different partners.

During September Thomson reorganized its board, following the divestiture of Alcatel, NEC and DirecTV from the company’s share capital (TWICE, September 30, p. 4 ). DirecTV chairman Eddy Hartenstein was invited to continue on the board in a personal capacity.