Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Roach, Richard Among 2006 CE Hall Inductees

Arlington, Va.— Long-time RadioShack chairman John Roach and the late A.J. Richard, the “Son” in New York-based retail chain P.C. Richard & Son, were among those named to this year’s class of inductees into the Consumer Electronics Industry Hall of Fame.

The inductees, who will be formally initiated at the CEA’s annual Industry Forum in San Francisco, Oct. 16-18, also include: former Motorola chairman Robert Galvin; Jack Doyle of Pioneer America; Howard Ladd of Sanyo; Andrew Grove and Gordon Moore, two of the three co-founders of Intel (the third co-founder, Robert Noyce, was inducted in 2000); Dr. Donald Bitzer, Dr. Robert Willson and the late Dr. Gene Slottow, the Emmy-award winning inventors of plasma displays for television; Nick Holonyak Jr., inventor of the light-emitting diode; and George Heilmeier, who invented the liquid crystal display. They join the 97 other industry luminaries in the CEA Hall of Fame.

“The accomplishments of the individuals who are entering the Hall of Fame this year are simply amazing,” said CEA President and CEO, Gary Shapiro. “Their inventions and leadership laid the groundwork for today’s digital products and technologies, enhancing the way consumers around the world work, live and play.”