Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Luplow Named ATSC Chairman


Wayne C. Luplow, Zenith HDTV
standards and promotion VP, the U.S. R&D subsidiary for LG Electronics, has
been elected chairman of the Advanced Television Systems Committee (


) board of the directors, the committee
members said Tuesday.

Luplow has been active in the ATSC for many years, and has served on the
ATSC board since 1992.

He is a Life Fellow of the IEEE, and serves as chairman of the Video
Systems Engineering Committee of the Consumer Electronics Association (CEA).

Luplow was Zenith’s primary representative for the “Digital HDTV Grand Alliance” research consortium, formed in 1993 to develop the
industry-standard DTV broadcast system, which was the basis for the ATSC A/53
DTV Standard.

“Wayne’s wealth of experience in industry
stands development combined with his dedication to the ongoing progression of
DTV technology will make him a great chairman,” stated Mark Richer, ATSC president.

Luplow will succeed NBC-Universal’s Glenn Reitmeier, who has served as
chairman of the ATSC board for three consecutive years which is the limit
prescribed by the organization’s Bylaws.

Reitmeier will continue to serve on the board as a Director.

Board members for 2010, in addition to Reitmeier and Luplow, include: Lynn
Claudy, NAB; Brian Markwalter, CEA;

Wendy Aylsworth, SMPTE; Sterling Davis, Cox Media Group; Joseph Flaherty,
CBS; Andy Scott, NCTA; Jay

Adrick, Harris; Victor Tawil, MSTV; John Godfrey, Samsung; Craig Todd,
Dolby; Jim Kutzner, PBS, Anthony Caruso,

CBC and Michael Isnardi, IEEE.