DEG Announces New Officers


Los Angeles - The home entertainment industry promotion group the

Digital Entertainment Group (DEG)

said Friday that it has elected a slate of new members for its board of directors and officers, who will serve as the steering committee.

The newest members of the board, who will serve for the 2012-13 fiscal year (Aug. 1 through July 31), include: Bill Sondheim of Gaiam Vivendi Entertainment, John Taylor of LG Electronics USA, Mike Lucas of Sony Electronics and Michael Paull of Sony Music Entertainment.

The five newly elected members of the DEG steering committee are beginning a two-year term. The steering committee is comprised of a president, two VPs, secretary and chief financial officer.

They will be responsible for providing leadership and oversight of the DEG's agenda.

New to the steering committee is Steve Beeks of Lionsgate, who is also the group's chief financial officer.

The DEG said its plans going forward are to continue efforts supporting home entertainment products, including UltraViolet, Blu-ray Disc, connected devices and digital delivery.

"We are enthusiastic about the DEG's 16th year with the new steering committee and board of directors behind us," stated Amy Jo Smith, DEG executive director. "The DEG is looking forward to supporting the industry's important initiatives to advance home entertainment."                        


Related Articles