Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CEA Reveals 2013 CE Hall Of Fame Class

ARLINGTON, VA. — The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) revealed its 2013 class of inductees for the Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame. Fifteen people make up the new class:

• Samar Basu — worked on the lithium-ion battery at Bell Labs;

• Manning Greenberg — covered the CE industry for Home Furnishings Daily for decades;

• Marcian (Ted) Hoff — invented the microprocessor;

• Team: Jim Barton/Michael Ramsay — TiVo founders;

• Team: Gary Burrell/Min Kao — their marketing efforts introduced the public to GPS;

• Team: Katsuhiko Machida/Mikio Katayama — visionary work on LCD TVs at Sharp;

• Team: Len and Jim Tweten — specialty retailers who created Magnolia Audio Video;

• Team: Steven Van Slyke/Ching Tang — pioneering work led to OLED displays; and

• Team: Meg Whitman/Pierre Omidyar — built eBay into a global online marketplace. The inductees were selected by a panel of media and industry professionals who judged the nominations submitted online by manufacturers, retailers and industry journalists. The honorees will be inducted into the CE Hall of Fame during CEA’s Industry Forum, to be held Oct. 20-23 in Los Angeles.