Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CEA Names Executive Board, Board of Industry Leaders

Arlington, Va. — Pat Lavelle, president/CEO of Audiovox, has been elected chairman of the Consumer Electronics Association’s (CEA) executive board, and the organization has named its executive board and board of industry leaders (BIL) members for the coming year.

CEA also reminded the industry that Gary Yacoubian, president/COO, MyerEmco Audio Video, will serve as vice chairman, which is the first time in CEA history a retailer will hold a top leadership position with the organization.

“CEA is fortunate to have such an impressive roster of dynamic, engaged volunteers serving the industry through representation on the Executive Board and Board of Industry Leaders,” said Gary Shapiro, president/CEO of CEA.

CEA’s BIL represents the organization’s 2,200 corporate members. The group meets throughout the year to review the state of the industry and help shape strategic goals for CEA. Members of the BIL are elected by CEA members. The executive board, which is elected by the BIL, determines CEA policies, manages the association’s affairs and defines qualifications for membership.

Loyd Ivey, founder and CEO of Mitek, will remain as the immediate past chairman of the executive board. New executive board members include Stewart Muller, president, Philips Consumer Electronics North America; Michael Mohr, president, Celluphone; Steve Caldero, senior VP/COO, Ken Crane’s Home Entertainment; Henry Chiarelli, president, DBL Distributing; and Ilana Diamond, CEO, Sima Products. Returning executive board members include Phil Schoonover, president/CEO, Circuit City; Noel Lee, head monster, Monster Cable; Jay McLellan, president/CEO, Home Automation; and Grant Russell, president, Kleen Concepts. Peter Lesser, president, X-10 USA, remains CEA’s industry executive advisor.

Those elected to the BIL serve a three year term. New members who join the 29 returning BIL members include: Nelson Chan, CEO, Magellan; Mike Cook, president, MTI; Bob Fields, chairman, CEO/founder, Victory Technologies; Ron Garriques, president, global consumer group, Dell; Steve Giordano Sr., CEO, Lucidiom; Ian Hendler, business development director, Leviton Manufacturing; Henry Juszkiewicz, chairman/CEO, Gibson Guitar; K.I. Kwon, president, consumer electronics division, LG Electronics USA; Mark Luden, president, Guitammer; Greg Rhine, senior VP/GM, consumer products division, SanDisk; John Shalam, chairman, Audiovox; Herman Sperling, group VP marketing, Harman Consumer Group; Steve Tiffen, president, Tiffen; Jocelyn Vigreux, president, TomTom USA; and Max Wasinger, sales and marketing senior VP, Mitsubishi Digital Electronics America.