Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CEA Honors 2006 CE Hall Of Fame Class

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) honored the CE Hall of Fame class of 2006 with a dinner gala last Tuesday night during its annual Industry Forum, here.

Seven individuals and two teams were honored for their contributions to the industry over the years. The honorees are:

  • Jack Doyle: Long-time Pioneer Electronics executive and former board member and chairman of CEA.
  • Robert Galvin: Took over Motorola from his father, fellow Hall of Famer Robert, to build the company into a global supplier of semiconductors and cellphones.
  • Dr. George Heilmeier: He led the team that developed liquid crystal display (LCD) technology during the mid-1960s at RCA’s David Sarnoff Research Center.
  • Dr. Nick Holonyak Jr.:Among many accomplishments over a long career, he developed the light emitting diode (LED).
  • Howard Ladd:Founder of Concord Electronics and helped establish Sanyo in the U.S. and later Sanyo Fisher (USA) Corp.
  • A.J. Richard:The “Son” in the New York retail chain’s name of P.C. Richard & Son, he was its long-time chairman. He moved the hardware store of the early 1900s into a dominant electronic/appliance retailer it is today.
  • John Roach:The long-time CEO of Tandy Corp. which ran RadioShack, at one point the chain was the largest electronics retailer in the U.S. and the industry’s most visible.
  • Andy Grove and Gordon Moore :Co-founders of Intel, Grove and Moore, fellow Fairchild engineers left that company to start their own in 1968. What Grove and Moore did at Intel was to invent and commercialize the microprocessor.
  • Donald Bitzer, Gene Slottow and Robert Wilson: These three men invented the plasma display panel, a major high-definition television display format, in July 1964. The display was originally designed to help solve the illiteracy problems in inner city schools.