Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CE Hall Of Fame Class Named

The Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame has selected its 2004 inductees.

According to the Consumer Electronics Association, the CE Hall of Fame was created “to honor the leaders whose creativity, persistence, determination and sheer personal charisma helped to shape an industry and made the consumer electronics marketplace what it is today.”

The 2004 inductees to the Hall of Fame are:

Alan Dower Blumlein Blumlein registered 128 patents on stereo/TV/radar in the 1930s. He invented binaural audio output, better known as stereo sound while he was at EMI. His electronic circuits are fundamental to the functioning of modern electronics.

Paul Klipsch Klipsch was the owner, president, and chief engineer of Klipsch Audio Technologies. Klipsch received countless awards including the Science & Industry Hall of Fame with many notables. He is a Fellow at the Audio Engineering Society, IEEE Acoustical Society of America, received the 1978 AES Silver Medal and in 1984 was inducted into the Audio Hall of Fame.

Dr. Woo Paik For television to move from the analog to digital, there needed to be a way to compress the digital signal for widespread access. Dr. Paik, along with associates Marc Tayer, Jerry Heller, Ed Krause and Paul Moroney created Digicipher, a technology that could compress a digital signal for digital television use. By 1993, Dr. Paik and his fellow engineers had a concrete method for the transmission of an HDTV signal.

Steven Wozniak While at Hewlett-Packard, Wozniak used his technical genius to create a “blue box,” a pocketsize phone attachment that made long distance calls for free. Wozniak reunited with friend Steve Jobs at Hewlett-Packard to form Apple Computers. In 1985, Wozniak left Apple to take a job combining his two passions, computers and education. Wozniak continues to instruct teachers and students on the basics of computer technology.

Robert Gerson Gerson served as the founding editor and editor-in chief of TWICE until his retirement in 2000. Prior to joining TWICE he was the New York managing editor at Television Digest and was a frequent contributor to such other publications as Consumer Electronics Monthly, Autosound & Communications, Video Review and Economic Salon. He also authored two supplements on consumer electronics for Time magazine, made a number of network and local TV and radio presentations on the industry. Currently he is editor-at-large for TWICE.

Henry Brief Brief was a trade association consultant until his death in 1998. He held the position of general counsel to The International Tape Association (now the International Recording Media Association, IRMA) from 1996-1998 and executive VP of ITA from 1979-1996. Brief was executive director of the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) from 1960-1979.

Ken Kai Kai built the U.S. market for Japanese consumer electronics companies with high-fidelity products along with the introduction of optical disc technology with Laserdisc. He was inducted into the Video Hall of Fame in 1984 under the “Pioneer in Home Video” category.

Jerry Kalov Kalov is with Kay Associates, a management consulting firm. He is a director of Quion and a director of Wells-Gardner Electronics. Previously he was president and chief executive officer of Cobra Electronics. Kalov was president and chief operating officer of Harman International Industries, and also was president and chief executive officer of JBL. Before that he was the senior officer of Jensen International. He is a member of the CEA Executive Board.

Norio Ohga Ohga served as consultant and advisor to Tokyo Tsushin Kogyo (renamed Sony Corp. in 1958) during the development of Japan’s first tape recorder. He rose through the ranks at Sony and helped make easy-to-use tape recorders available to everyone. Ohga also played a key role in the establishment of new audio formats, such as the compact disc (CD) in 1982, the MiniDisc (MD) in 1992, and Super Audio CD (SACD). Appointed chairman and CEO of Sony Corp. in 1995, he became chairman of Sony Corp, effective July 1999.

Richard Frankiel and Joel Engel Frankiel and Engel, researchers at AT&T’s Bell Labs, were the key people in the development of the AMPS (Advanced Mobile Phone Service) standard, which was adopted by the FCC as the country’s first wireless phone standard. It also was the world’s first wireless phone standard. For their achievement, they were jointly awarded the National Medal of Technology in 1994 by the president of the United States.