Canon Football Photo Winners Named

Publish date:
Updated on

Lake Success, N.Y. -

Canon U.S.A.,

and the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced Thursday the winners of the "Why Do You Love Football" photo contest.

The grand-prize winners include Heidi Yowell, 45, of La Habra, Calif., who won the award from the adult division, and Michael Pronzato, 17, of Warrington, Pa., who won for the teen division.

 The grand-prize winners were selected from more than 6,000 entries.

Both winners will receive a trip for four to attend Super Bowl XLV in Texas along with a trip for four to the 2011 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Celebration this summer.

The winning photos will be displayed in the Hall of Fame for a year.

Yowell's photo, called "Last Game," depicted her son and husband after the last Pop Warner game of the season. Her son, a third-year linebacker, wore pink socks during the game to help promote breast cancer awareness.

Pronzato's photo was called "Give a Full Effort for the Touchdown," and showed an image from the Archbishop Wood vs. Haverford High School football game.

He said there is a chance for a great picture every time Desmon Peoples (subject of the photo and Pronzato's friend) runs the ball.

A junior at Archbishop Wood, Pronzato taught himself how to use a camera.

This year, Canon said it established an educational curriculum across the country to enrich the student development in the art of photography and digital imaging during after school hours.

The program, called Youth Education Towns (YETs), consisted of workshops hosted by local photographers, NFL team photographers and Canon representatives. 

The curriculum for the workshops was developed by Peter Read Miller, Canon Explorers of Light member and Sports Illustrated photographer.

Photos from the program will make up a mural showcasing the students' love for football, to be featured at NFL commissioner Roger Goodell's press conference at the Super Bowl.

Last year, Canon donated $150,000 of products to YETs and will be providing equipment for the newest YET to be built in Texas this year as well.

The other finalists in the adult division were Jack Keo, Calif.; George Faella, N.Y.; Michael Renzi, Calif.; Dwane Lindsey, Ill.; Tony Tribolet, Calif.; Allen Wilhelm, N.C.; Stacey Rhea, Va.; Eric Smith, Texas; Candein Chairez, Calif.; Robert DeForge, Mich.; Gary Jones, Calif.; and Rebecca Tacchetti, Md.

The other finalists in the teen division were Joshua Lindsey, Ky.; Jessica Brown, Ga.; Emily de Santos, Texas; Aaron Gonzalez, Texas; Menna Mourad, Calif.; and Cameron Sarradet, La.


Related Articles