Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


AHAM Names Board, Salutes Industry Leaders

Washington, D.C. – The
Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM) announced its newly elected
board of directors and honored five industry figures at the trade group’s
annual member meeting here this past weekend at The Ritz-Carlton.

Joining the board are
Viking Range’s strategy VP David Becker and Remington Products’ sales,
marketing and new business development VP Drew Fiorenza, with terms expiring in

Re-elected members of the
board with terms expiring in 2014 are board chair Mark Bissell, chairman/CEO, Bissell;
Tom Vining, engineering VP, Electrolux Home Products; and John R. Arganbright, sales
and marketing VP, Panasonic Home Appliances.

Continuing directors include
Franz Bosshard, CEO emeritus, BSH Home Appliances; second vice chair Thomas
Catania, government relations VP, Whirlpool; Donald Hoeschen, VP sales,
National Presto Industries;  Earl Jones, senior
counsel, regulatory compliance, GE Appliances & Lighting; Edward McAssey,
III, COO, Lasko Products; Alvise Ricoveri, managing director, DeLonghi America;  Jerry Ryder, chairman, InSinkErator division,
Emerson Appliance Solutions;  first vice chair
Bob Scaglione, chief marketing officer, Sharp Electronics; treasurer Paul Sikir,
design engineering VP, Sub-Zero;  John
Taylor, government relations and communications VP, LG Electronics USA;
supplier division chair David Yundt, VP/director, stainless products, Main
Steel Polishing Co.; and AHAM president Joseph McGuire.

Separately, AHAM honored Whirlpool’s
Vincent Anderson, AHAM’s Kevin Messner, Sub-Zero’s Steven Nackers, GE’s Kelley
Kline, and Lasko’s Brad Brush for their contributions to and leadership in the
home appliance industry and its trade association.

 Anderson, technical
leader of government programs at Whirlpool, received the Home Appliance Industry
Leadership (HAIL) Award, the industry’s top honor, for his significant volunteer
efforts over the past decade, particularly for technical support on issues such
as the multi-product consensus energy standards agreement, AHAM’s
refrigerator/freezer test standards and the development of AHAM verification
programs, the group said. 

Messner, AHAM’s
government relations VP, received the Michael C. Thompson Public Policy Award for
demonstrating extraordinary effort and accomplishment in the area of public
policy.  Messner has led the industry’s public policy efforts for the past
three years and is instrumental in AHAM’s successful advocacy of public policy
positions for the home appliance industry, the group said.

The AHAM Distinguished
Service Award went to Sub-Zero’s Nackers in recognition of his significant
contributions by virtue of longevity and quality of service to AHAM and the
home appliance industry. The design engineer has been very involved in AHAM’s
Smart Grid Task Force, and is is the lead author of AHAM’s evaluation of
communication protocols for smart grid technology, titled “Assessment of
Communication Standards for Smart Appliances.”

AHAM also awarded GE’s
Kline and Lasko’s Brush with Emerging Leader Awards.  The honor, which was
added in 2009, recognizes achievement and encourages continued service and
industry leadership in AHAM activities.

The meeting, themed “Working
For You in Washington,” ran May 1-2, 2011 in Washington, DC. The 2012 AHAM annual member meeting will take
place on April 22 and 23, 2012 at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Naples, Florida.