Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


AHAM Elects New Directors, Awards Industry Execs

Washington — The Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM) announced the election of new directors at the trade group’s annual member meeting, “Celebrating 40 Years of Service,” held here this week.

Newly elected members of the AHAM board of directors with terms expiring in 2010 include John Herrington, president of LG Electronics’ digital appliances division, and Mike L. Carpenter, president of Focus Electrics.

Re-elected to the AHAM board for three year terms are former chairman Liston P. Durden, marketing senior VP, Viking Range; Alan M. Holaday, project management office VP, Whirlpool, who also serves as AHAM treasurer; and Donald E. Hoeschen, sales VP, National Presto Industries.

Members of the AHAM board of directors continuing to serve include the following officers: board chair Edward V. McAssey, III, COO, Lasko Products; first vice chair Jerry G. Ryder, president, InSinkErator, Emerson Electric; and second vice chair Mark J. Bissell, president/CEO, Bissell Homecare.

Other board members continuing to serve include John R. Arganbright, home appliance sales VP, Panasonic Home Appliances; Mark L. Balcunas, VP/general manager, appliance controls, Invensys Controls; Franz J. Bosshard, president/CEO, BSH Home Appliances; Edward Buckles, senior associate general counsel, Electrolux North America; Earl F. Jones, senior counsel, GE Consumer & Industrial and a former AHAM board chair; Gerald J. Lozinski, global product development VP, Jarden Consumer Solutions; Bob Scaglione, senior VP/group manager, Sharp Electronics Marketing Corp. of America (SEMCA); Gordon L. Stauffer, special projects director, Northland-Marvel, and a former AHAM board chair; and AHAM president Joseph M. McGuire.

AHAM also honored several industry executives with awards for service and leadership at the annual member meeting. The industry’s top honor, the Home Appliance Industry Leadership (HAIL) Award, was presented to Viking’s Durden and David B. Sunset, market development senior director, Jarden Consumer Solutions. Durden was recognized for his AHAM leadership and involvement in the development of ANSI/AHAM OV-1, a test method for measurement of oven volume. Sunset has served as chair of the portable appliance division’s business data council since 2001 and led the council’s efforts to replace the portable appliance shipment data program with a more robust consumer panel data program.

The Michael C. Thompson Public Policy Award, recognizing extraordinary effort and accomplishment in the area of public policy, was bestowed on Lynn H. Thomson, government relations manager, GE, for her efforts in the successful enactment of the manufacturers tax credit for super efficient appliances. The AHAM Chairman’s Award, which recognizes significant contributions to the association by non-member individuals, was presented to Joseph R. Musso, standards technical panel chairman, Underwriters Laboratories. This year’s AHAM Distinguished Service Awards, which recognize significant contributions by virtue of longevity and quality of service to AHAM and the home appliance industry, went to Jennifer Moe, section head for global fabric enhancer formula design, Proctor & Gamble; Gary Chastine, senior engineer, GE Consumer & Industrial; and Raymon D. Mayginnes, chief product engineer, Emerson Tool Company.

The 2008 AHAM Annual Member Meeting will take place at Sanibel Harbor Resort and Spa, Fort Myers, Fla., April 27-28.