2012 PMDA Award Winners Named

Publish date:
Updated on

New York - Sony chairman Howard Stringer heads a list of six photo-industry leaders to be honored for their outstanding contributions by

The PhotoImaging Manufacturers and Distributors Association (PMDA)


The awards will be presented Jan. 9, 2012 (the night before the start of International CES) in Las Vegas.

 Stringer is to be presented with the PMDA's Person of the Year award.

Other honorees will include: Carol Guzy, Washington Post Journalist and four-time Pulitzer Prize winner (Photographer of the Year); Dr. George Smith, a 2009 Nobel Prize in Physics winner and co-inventor of the CCD, (DIMA Lifetime Achievement Award); Jeffrey Housenbold, Shutterfly CEO (Visionary of the Year); Mona Kelly, former Walgreens general merchandise manager and longtime industry veteran (PMDA Lifetime Achievement Award); and Tatsuo Konno, Canon senior general manager imaging communications products, engineer and patent holder of d-SLR technologies (Technical Achievement Award).

The PMDA Awards are given annually to the people or organizations that have made significant contributions or meaningful impacts to the photography industry during the year or over the course of their careers.

This year's awards will be presented during a celebratory gala event, called the PMDA's first "Imaging Night," to take place at the Haze Nightclub at the Aria Hotel in Las Vegas.

The PMDA is coordinating its first industry trade show as a party to International CES, hosted by the

Consumer Electronics Association


The PMDA awards dinner is being sponsored by the CEA and National Geographic.


Related Articles