Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CTA’s 2017 Hall Of Fame Class Includes Former TWICE Publisher Marcia Grand

The Consumer Technology Association (CTA) announced its new class of inductees into its 2017 Consumer Technology Hall of Fame, and for the second year in a row a member of the TWICE family is entering.

Longtime TWICE publisher Marcia Grand will be inducted with 11 others. Grand will be honored in the Industry Enhancement category as a true pioneer for women executives in the tech industry.

Steve Smith, longtime editor in chief of TWICE, was inducted in 2016.

The CT Hall of Fame, created in 2000, honors the leaders who advance innovation and have built the foundation for the technologies, products and services that continue to improve consumers’ lives and better our world.

The 2017 class also includes two teams who combined efforts to better the industry:

Innovators/Technologists:  Dean Kamen, FIRST, Segway; Ray Kurzweil, Google

Founders/Executives:  Arlene Harris, GreatCall;  Mike Lazardis, BlackBerry/RIM

Retailers/Distributors:  Mitch Mohr, Celluphone; Charles Tandy, Tandy/Radio Shack

Industry Advancement:  Darrell Issa, Congressman, Directed Electronics; Marcia Grand, TWICE

Team:  Dr. Leonardo Chiariglione/Dr. Hiroshi Yasuda, JPEG/MPEG

Team:  Frank McIntosh/Gordon Gow, McIntosh Laboratory

“The CT Hall of Fame celebrates excellence in our industry,” said CTA president and CEO Gary Shapiro. “This year’s distinguished class includes innovators who created the Segway; the print-to-speech reading machine for the blind; and varying MPEG video compression standards; business executives who launched unique cellphone service and revolutionary smartphones; and the first high-powered/low-distortion audio amplifier. In addition, a nationwide wireless distributor, a retailer who grew nine stores into 6,500, an influential publisher and even a former CTA chairman, current congressman and co-founder of the largest vehicle anti-theft device company are part of this exceptional group.”

The inductees were selected by a panel of media and industry professionals, who judged the nominations submitted by manufacturers, retailers and industry journalists. The 2017 honorees will be inducted into the CT Hall of Fame in New York at an awards dinner on Tuesday, Nov. 7, at the Rainbow Room.