Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CEDIA Announces 2019 Elected Directors

Peter Aylett, Michael Cogbill, and Albert Mizrahi join re-elected director Joe Whitaker

CEDIA has announced the results from the recent election for the four open positions on the CEDIA Board of Directors. 

The membership has three new elected directors: Peter Aylett, Michael Cogbill, and Albert Mizrahi; and one re-elected director: Joe Whitaker.

Peter Aylett has been in the industry for 28 years and currently serves as the president and CTO of Archimedia, who have been honored with five CEDIA awards over the past four years. Aylett has been teaching on behalf of CEDIA for 19 years and served as the director of professional development in the CEDIA EMEA Office from 2005 until 2011 when he joined Archimedia. 

Aylett’s extensive global volunteer experience has been recognized several times, first as the recipient of CEDIA’s 2014 “Training Volunteer of the Year” award, and then as the 2015 EMEA “Special Recognition” award recipient. He is CEDIA ESC-D and ESC-N, ISF, and HAA certified.

Michael Cogbill is recognized internationally as an authority in the field of home automation and integrated home systems. His professional career spans over 40 years as an engineer, manager, and entrepreneur. Currently, he serves as VP of Engineering at ETC, a leading technology integrator in South Florida. He has been with ETC since 2006. 

Throughout his varied engineering career, Michael has worked in defense and aerospace systems, founded two companies, and been a passionate advocate of CEDIA since the very beginning.

Albert Mizrahi started his career in the industry as the director for Control4 Mexico. During his time with Control4, he opened the first Control4 experience center in Mexico and the center has since been replicated worldwide. 

Six years ago, Mizrahi opened Smart Lab, an integration company that specializes in residential, commercial, and hospitality projects. His work has won multiple awards, including CEDIA Awards. A year ago, Mizrahi opened his own distribution company. He is a Dealerscope 40 under 40 honoree and has won the Control4 international distributor of the year award five times.

Joe Whitaker has over 20 years of experience in home systems installation and design and is an award-winning product designer and inventor. Whitaker is an active member of industry press and sits on many product award judging panels. 

Whitaker is currently the principal of the integration firms The Thoughtful Home (Residential) and The Thoughtful Restaurant (Hospitality), operating in St. Louis, MO and Dallas, TX.

The four elected Directors’ terms will begin Jan. 1, 2019.

The CEDIA Governance Committee is reviewing applications and conducting interviews for potential appointed candidates. Appointed directors are chosen from among all member types (manufacturers, service providers, home technology professionals, etc.) There is one open appointed position for the 2019-2020 term to be filled from the EMEA region. This position will be voted on by the newly seated board at the first board meeting in January 2019.

See also: Custom Integrators Riding High, But Will The Housing Market Hold?

Board members continuing their service include:

Dave Humphries
Atlantic Integrated
Rockleigh, NJ, USA

David Weinstein
Coopersburg, PA, USA

John Buchanan
Meridian Audio Limited
Huntingdon, United Kingdom

Ken Erdmann
Erdmann Electric
Springville, UT

Matt Scott
OMEGA Audio Video
London, Ontario, Canada

Heather Sidorowicz
Southtown Audio Video
Hamburg, NY, USA

For more information, visit